© Marcus Klepper - fotolia.com

Open programmes / 

Leo Baeck

Aim of the Programme

The international Leo Baeck Fellowship Programme awards fellowships to doctoral students who carry out research into the history and culture of Central European Jewry. We welcome projects on any period or field (including literature, philosophy, history, musicology), and any region (such as Europe, Israel, the Americas), as long as they relate to German-speaking Jewry. In addition to financial support for one year, the programme provides opportunities to exchange ideas with peers from around the world. It is open to doctoral candidates of any nationality, studying at any university. All fellows remain at their home institution, but come together for two workshops in the course of the fellowship, which are jointly organised by the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes and the Leo Baeck Institute London.

Programme schedule

Up to twelve fellows will be selected for the programme in the academic year 2019/20. The fellowships run from October 2019 to September 2020. Regular workshops and an intranet platform provide support for scholarship holders and enable them to present their research and discuss methodologies and findings with other fellows. Working languages are German and English. After the first year, students enrolled at a university in Germany may apply for an extension of their scholarship within the framework of the Studienstiftung’s doctoral programme, subject to available funds. 

Scholarship value

Fellows receive a stipend of 1,350 € a month. In addition a monthly research allowance of 100 € is available. Fellows can also apply for supplements for health insurance (max. 100 €/month) and childcare, as well as travel allowances to support research tips and participation at conferences abroad. Contributions to tuition fees outside Germany may also be granted (max. 10,000 €). All funding is provided in accordance with the general regulations issued by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF).

Requirements

  • University degree(s) with outstanding marks
  • Date of latest degree not before February 2015
  • Formal qualification for doctoral studies / acceptance on a doctoral programme at a recognised university
  • Research project focussing on the history and culture of Central European Jewry 

Application

Candidates are invited to submit the following documents in English or German:

  • Application form (download from the website: www.studienstiftung.de)
  • Cover letter outlining the motivation for participation in the programme (1 page)
  • Curriculum vitae with details on education, general interests and language skills
  • Photocopy of university degree(s), including marks/grading
  • Research proposal (5 pages)
  • Research schedule for the academic year 2019/20, including planned research trips
  • Letter of recommendation by the supervisor of the PhD project
  • Second letter of recommendation

We accept applications by e-mail (as a single pdf document please, the letters of recommendation may be submitted separately) or conventional mail (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, Ahrstraße 41, 53175 Bonn, Deutschland). Only complete application sets will be considered. Shortlisted candidates will be invited to an interview in Frankfurt in April 2019. 

Application Deadline

The deadline for application is the 1st February 2019.

Contact

Program Coordinator

Dr Peter Antes
Telephone: +49 (0)228 82096-286
E-Mail: leobaeck(at)studienstiftung(dot)de

Secretary

Martina Lang
Telephone: +49 (0)228 82096-285
E-Mail: lang(at)studienstiftung(dot)de

Further information and application forms

© Marcus Klepper - fotolia.com

Offene Stipendienprogramme / 

Leo Baeck

Programmziel

Das internationale Leo Baeck Fellowship Programm richtet sich an Promovierende, die an einer Dissertation im Bereich Geschichte und Kultur des zentraleuropäischen Judentums arbeiten. Projekte aller Epochen, Disziplinen (z.B. Literatur, Philosophie, Geschichte, Musikwissenschaft) und geographischen Räume (z.B. Europa, Amerikas, Israel) sind willkommen, allen gemeinsam ist ein Bezug zum deutschsprachigen Judentum. Neben der finanziellen Unterstützung für ein Jahr bietet das Programm Gelegenheit zu wissenschaftlichem Austausch und Vernetzung. Es ist offen für Promovierende aller Nationalitäten und aller Hochschulen weltweit. Die Fellows verbleiben an ihrer jeweiligen Universität und kommen zu zwei Workshops zusammen, die gemeinsam vom Leo Baeck Institut London und der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes organisiert werden.

Das Programm trägt den Namen des Rabbiners Dr. Leo Baeck (1873-1956), der einer der bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten des deutschen Judentums im 20. Jahrhundert war. Die Studienstiftung führt das Programm in inhaltlicher Kooperation mit dem Leo Baeck Institut London und mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) durch.

Programmbeschreibung

Für das akademische Jahr 2019/20 werden bis zu zwölf Stipendien vergeben. Die Stipendienlaufzeit beginnt zum Oktober 2019 und endet im September 2020. Regelmäßige Tagungen und ein gemeinsames Intranet unterstützen die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten darin, sich ihre Projekte gegenseitig vorzustellen und sich über Methoden und Ergebnisse der Forschung auszutauschen. Arbeitssprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch. Promovierende, die ihre Dissertation an Universitäten in Deutschland erarbeiten und einreichen werden, können nach dem ersten Jahr eine Verlängerung der Förderdauer beantragen, sofern der Studienstiftung entsprechende Finanzmittel zur Verfügung stehen.

Stipendienleistungen

Fellows erhalten pro Monat ein Stipendium von 1.350 Euro plus eine monatliche Forschungskostenpauschale von 100 Euro und ggf. einen Zuschuss zur Krankenversicherung in Höhe von maximal 100 Euro. Wer mit Kind promoviert oder sich (zeitweise) im Ausland aufhält wird zusätzlich unterstützt. Für Forschungs- und Konferenzreisen ins Ausland können Zuschläge und Reisekostenzuschüsse beantragt werden, bei Auslandspromotionen Monatszuschläge und ggf. ein Studiengebührenzuschuss bis zu 10.000 Euro. Im Einzelnen erfolgt die Förderung gemäß den Richtlinien des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung zur Förderung begabter Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler.

Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen

  • Deutlich überdurchschnittlicher Hochschulabschluss
  • Ausstellungsdatum des letzten Hochschulabschlusses nicht vor Februar 2015
  • Zulassung zur Promotion und Promotionsprojekt im Bereich Geschichte und Kultur des zentraleuropäischen Judentums
  • Eine parallele Bewerbung um ein reguläres Promotionsstipendium der Studienstiftung ist nicht möglich

Bewerbungsprozess

Eine Bewerbung besteht aus folgenden Unterlagen in deutscher oder englischer Sprache:

  • Ausgefülltes Bewerbungsformular (DOC, 0.1 MB)
  • Motivationsschreiben, in dem das Interesse für die Teilnahme am Programm begründet wird (1 Seite)
  • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf mit Angaben zu Bildung, außerfachlichen Interessen und Sprachkenntnissen
  • Fotokopie des Hochschulabschlusszeugnisses mit Einzelnoten der geprüften Fächer
  • Beschreibung des Forschungsprojekts (5 Seiten)
  • Zeitplan für das akademische Jahr 2019/20 einschließlich eventueller Forschungsreisen
  • Empfehlungsschreiben der Betreuerin oder des Betreuers der Promotion
  • Zweites Empfehlungsschreiben

Wir nehmen Bewerbungen auf dem Postweg (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, Ahrstraße 41, 53175 Bonn, Deutschland) oder per E-Mail (möglichst ein einziges pdf-Dokument, Empfehlungsschreiben können separat übermittelt werden) entgegen. Nur vollständige Bewerbungsunterlagen werden berücksichtigt. Vielversprechende Kandidaten und Kandidatinnen werden im April 2019 zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch nach Frankfurt eingeladen.

Bewerbungsschluss

Eine Bewerbung für das akademische Jahr 2019/2012 ist bis zum 1. Februar 2019 möglich.

Kontakt

Programmleiter

Dr. Peter Antes
Team Promotion und Finanzen
Telefon: +49 (0)228 82096-286
E-Mail: leobaeck(at)studienstiftung(dot)de  

Sekretariat

Martina Lang
Team Promotion und Finanzen
Telefon: +49 (0)228 82096-285
E-Mail: lang(at)studienstiftung(dot)de

Weitere Informationen und Bewerbungsunterlagen